Skip to main content

Course Outline

  • Wisconsin law requires safety education training (certification) for all ATV, UTV, and OHM operators (residents and non-residents) who are at least 12 years old and who were born on or after January 1, 1988.
    • In some cases, underage children may be allowed to operate a small ATV or small UTV on an off-road trail before they complete a required safety education course.
    • More information, including exceptions to the education requirement, is included in the Wisconsin Off-Highway Vehicle Regulations pamphlet.
  • Safety certification may be obtained by completing a DNR–sponsored safety course successfully.
  • Safety certification endorsed by another state or a province of Canada will be accepted.
  • A state motor vehicle driver’s license is not required to operate an ATV in Wisconsin.
  • An operator must carry the Safety Certificate while riding and display it to a law enforcement officer upon request.

Additional Requirements and Restrictions

  • For ATVs or Small UTVs: In addition to having a Safety Certificate, all children 12 through 15 years old also must be accompanied by an adult when they are operating an ATV or small UTV on a designated ATV trail or road route. The only exceptions for being accompanied by an adult are when the child is:
    • Crossing a road legally or…
    • Operating an ATV for agricultural purposes.
  • For Full-Size UTVs: Children must be at least 16 years old to operate a UTV on a roadway for agricultural purposes, even if they have a Safety Certificate.
  • For OHMs: Children under 12 years old may not operate an OHM:
    • On a roadway under any circumstances or…
    • Off a roadway unless he or she is accompanied by a parent, a guardian, or a person at least 18 years old who has been designated by the parent or guardian.
Wisconsin ATV safety certificate card
  • Unit 7 of 7
  • Topic 3 of 4
  • Page 1 of 4