About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the New Mexico OHV Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your OHV Safety Education Permit.

Learn More Register for the Course

All New Mexico peace officers and wildlife conservation officers enforce the OHV laws and regulations.

  • An enforcement officer may require an OHV operator to produce:
    • The registration card or nonresident permit
    • A safety education permit proving successful completion of an off-highway motor vehicle training course
    • The personal identification of the operator
  • An operator who violates OHV laws and regulations is guilty of a penalty assessment misdemeanor, unless that violation contributed to an accident resulting in a person's injury or death.
    • First-time violations are subject to fines ranging from $71 to $261.
    • Second, third, and subsequent violations are increased to higher penalty classes and subject to additional fines.
  • Parents are responsible for their children. A parent or guardian who knowingly permits a child under the age of 18 to operate an OHV in violation of the laws and regulations is also in violation and subject to the same penalty as the child.