Operating Your ATV Legally
You may operate an ATV on any privately owned land or body of private water if:
- You or an immediate member of your family are the owner or…
- You have with you the owner’s written consent to operate an ATV in that area during that time, given to you or to a club of which you are a member.
Most public lands are not approved for ATV use in Vermont. However, you may legally operate on any public land or body of public water which has been designated by the Vermont Secretary of Natural Resources for ATV operation.
You may operate an ATV on a public highway only if:
- It is not being maintained during the snow season or…
- It has been opened to ATV travel by a local governing body.
You may cross a public highway only if you:
- Cross at a 90-degree angle, at a location without any obstructions to crossing safely.
- Bring the ATV to a complete stop before entering the highway.
- Yield the right-of-way to motor vehicles and pedestrians using the highway.
- Are at least 16 years of age (if operating alone) or…
- Are at least 12 years of age and under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older.
It is illegal to harass, drive, or pursue any wildlife with your ATV.
You may not operate in a careless or negligent manner that would endanger a person or property.
You may never operate:
- Within a public or private cemetery
- On limited-access highways, on rights-of-way or approaches, or on the national system of interstate and defense highways, unless permitted by the Vermont state traffic committee
- On a sidewalk unless permitted by a local governing body
You must bring your ATV to a stop if you are instructed to do so by an enforcement officer wearing identifying insignia or operating a law enforcement vehicle sounding a siren or displaying a flashing blue or blue and white signal.
Violating the law on your ATV can cause you to be fined $300. You also may have your ATV registration suspended or revoked.