Oregon Frequently Asked Questions
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Oregon ATV students most frequently ask.
unlimited exam attempts
Price and Payment
How much does the Oregon Offroad Ed Course cost?
The fee for taking either the Oregon Offroad Ed Course or the Oregon Challenge Exam is $34.95.
Is it safe to enter my credit card information online?
You can enter your credit card information online with confidence on our secure server. This charge will appear on your credit card statement as “Safety Courses 18008302268.”
Taking the Course
Do you need Oregon ATV education?
All operators of Class I and III ATVs must have an ATV Safety Education Card.
Are there any age or operator restrictions for off-roading in Oregon?
How long will it take to complete the course?
Typically it takes about 3–4 hours to go through the online course, excluding any quizzes and/or exams and restudying that you may choose to do.
Do I have to complete the course all at once?
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. All pay-up-front courses are available for 90 days from time of registration and payment.
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Oregon Offroad Ed Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Oregon to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Oregon Offroad Ed Course approved by the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department?
The Oregon Offroad Ed Course is approved and accepted by the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department.
Is my ATV Safety Education Card accepted elsewhere?
Most states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the ATV Safety Education Card. (This is known as “reciprocity.”) If you plan to operate in another state or province, make sure you check their reciprocity laws before doing so.
Quizzes and/or Exams
I failed a unit quiz. Have I failed the course?
If you choose to take the Oregon Challenge Exam and successfully pass it, you do not have to take the Oregon Offroad Ed Course. If you take the course and fail a unit quiz, you can take the quiz again until you pass. You must score at least 80% on the unit quizzes to pass.
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the Certification Exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the Certification Exam. If you don't complete the exam in one session, don't worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
The Oregon Challenge Exam is an opportunity to get your ATV Safety Education Card by simply passing the exam with a score of at least 80%. You do not have to take the Oregon Offroad Ed Course in order to take the Oregon Challenge Exam. You have one attempt to pass the Oregon Challenge Exam. If you do not pass the Oregon Challenge Exam on the first try, you may take the Oregon Offroad Ed Course to meet the state’s education requirements.
How do I get my Oregon ATV Safety Education Card?
1. Study the online course material.
If you are 16 years or older, study and pass the $34.95 course, or you may skip the course by taking the $34.95 Oregon Challenge Exam.
If you are under 16 years of age, study and pass the $34.95 course. Throughout the Oregon Offroad Ed Course, you’ll be tested on what you’ve learned.
2. Complete your age-dependent certification requirements.
If you are 16 years or older, after successfully completing or bypassing the online course, you’ll immediately print out your proof of online course completion. Passing either the online course or the Oregon Challenge Exam will complete your education certification requirement.
If you are under 16 years of age, immediately print out your proof of online course completion, which you will need to bring with you to the Hands-On Training. You need to locate and sign up for the Hands-On Training. To sign up, go to http://www.rideatvoregon.org/index.cfm?CBBED3A4BF5FC39BB7107B83711F9D8284412658DF67254F399F69FABF9AEC75.
Remember: Passing the online course does not guarantee you a spot at the Hands-On Training.
3. Get your Oregon ATV Safety Education Card.
If you are 16 years or older, your permanent ATV Safety Education Card will be mailed to you by the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department.
If you are under 16 years of age, you'll receive your permanent ATV Safety Education Card after successfully completing the Hands-On Training.
Is there anything else I must do to be certified?
Once you have completed all 3 steps for certification, you’re ready to go off-roading.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course or, if you're eligible, the Oregon Challenge Exam, you will be able to immediately print your proof of online completion and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.
If you are under 16 years of age, you will need to bring this document with you to your Hands-On Training.
What is the permanent ATV Safety Education Card?
The ATV Safety Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed all the education requirements. The ATV Safety Education Card will arrive within 30 days after you complete all certification requirements.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Oregon online course completion document if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost or destroyed proof of course completion document, log in to the course and print a new one.
How do I replace my ATV Safety Education Card if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost or destroyed ATV Safety Education Card, you can order a duplicate by calling 1-877-772-3359.
What are the minimum system requirements to access this course?
- A computer or mobile device with Internet access
- A soundcard and speakers or headphones
- A printer to print your course completion document
Can I access the course on my mobile device?
This course is designed to work on any mobile device, such as iPhones, iPads, and Android phones and tablets, as well as your computer.
Username and Password
Where do I change my user information?
If you need to update your profile information or change your password, click on your username in the navigation bar at the top of the web page in the course. Re-submit your revised information using the form provided.
How do I reset my password?
If you forget your password, you can reset it from the Forgot Your Password page. You will need to enter your username and the email from your profile, and an email containing the link to reset your password will be sent. There is also a link to the Forgot Your Password? page on the Log In page for your convenience.
Will I lose everything if I log out?
When you log out, your progress is recorded so that when you log in again, you can pick up where you left off. When logging back in, you will be taken to the Course Contents page where you can see the progress you have made. You can click on a link for the last page viewed to go back to that part of the course.
How many times may I log in and out?
You may log in and out as many times as you wish. Your progress is monitored and saved.
What’s required to play the videos in the course?
Our course videos should play in all browsers. If you are having trouble playing a video, you might be able to find help at Vimeo’s FAQs. (Vimeo is the video player used in the course.)
What does the message “Your session has expired due to inactivity” mean?
If you have not been active within the course for more than 15 minutes, you will automatically be logged out of your session. A notice stating, “Your session has expired due to inactivity” will appear at the top of the course. Log back in, and you can continue interacting with the course. Your progress will have been recorded, and you should be able to continue where you left off in the course.
What happens if I get disconnected from the Internet?
If you are disconnected from the Internet, simply log back in and pick up where you left off. Your progress will be saved.
How can I contact customer support, if I have a question that isn’t covered here?
You may call us at 1-800-830-2268 to speak with a customer service representative, 9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.
Oregon Parks and Recreation Department
725 Summer St. NE, Suite C Salem, OR 97301 800-551-6949