Skip to main content

Official Nevada OHV Safety Course

Take this course to complete your online OHV safety education. This course is sponsored by the Nevada Outdoor School and approved by the Nevada Offroad Association and Nevada Department of Conservation & Natural Resources.

Get OHV certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the online course with coupon or scholarship code.

  2. Print your online course completion document, and review any additional requirements.

  3. Get ready to go off-roading!

Is this course required?

At this time, Nevada does not require riders to complete off-road vehicle operator education. However, to improve the safety and experience of the off-road community, this course is highly recommended by the Nevada Offroad Association.

Nevada OHV Certification Program Requirements

There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Nevada to take this online course.

After This Course

If you are under 16 years of age when you REGISTER for this course, you must pass this online course and attend the Hands-On Training to complete your OHV safety certification.

This hands-on training course is available at no cost through Nevada Outdoor School.

If you are over 16 years of age when you REGISTER for this course, the Hands-On Training is not required but recommended.

Learn More

What to Expect From Offroad Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe off-roading practices.

Watch this 49-second sample to see how we put you in the driver’s seat.

Comprehensive Instruction in Safety Education

This training program is developed to meet the standards for safety education. Offroad Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of state government agencies responsible for laws and regulations.

Pages from a offroading handbook
Nevada Outdoor School logo

OHV Information in Nevada

The safety course presented by Nevada Outdoor School has been created through a partnership with the Nevada Off-Highway Vehicles Program and the Nevada Offroad Association.

Get Certified

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Offroad Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

Nevada Approved

Nevada Outdoor School logo

Nevada Outdoor School
655 Anderson Street Winnemucca, NV 89445

This safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations statewide.

Get Certified

Price and Payment

How much does the Offroad Ed Nevada Course cost?

The Offroad Ed Nevada Course fee is $34.95.

Taking the Course

Is this course required?

At this time, Nevada does not require riders to complete off-road vehicle operator education. However, to improve the safety and experience of the off-road community, this course is highly recommended by the Nevada Offroad Association.

What is the minimum age to take this online course?

There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.

Do I have to be a resident to take the Offroad Ed Nevada Course?

You do not have to be a resident of Nevada to take this online course.

Course Approval and Acceptance

Is the Offroad Ed Nevada Course approved by the Nevada Outdoor School?

The Offroad Ed Nevada Course is approved and accepted by the Nevada Outdoor School, Nevada Off-Highway Vehicles Program and the Nevada Offroad Association.

Most states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Completion Document. (This is known as “reciprocity.”) If you plan to operate in another state or province, make sure you check their reciprocity laws before doing so.

Quizzes and/or Exams

I failed a unit quiz. Have I failed the course?

If you fail a unit quiz, you can take it again until you pass. You must score at least 80% on the unit quizzes to pass.

Do I have to take an online exam?

The Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.

About Your Certification

What is the proof of online Offroad Ed Nevada Course completion?

Once you pass the Certification Exam and pay for the Completion Document, you will be able to immediately print out the Completion Document. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Completion Document right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.

If you are 16 years or older, the Completion Document is proof that you have successfully completed all the off-road vehicle operator education requirements.

If you are under 16 years of age, you will receive the Completion Document from the Nevada Outdoor School after you successfully complete the Hands-On Training.

Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents

How do I replace my Completion Document if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?

To replace a lost or destroyed Completion Document, log in to the course and print a new one.

We’re people, not robots.

Your Offroad Ed course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

We’re available to help you:

8:00am to 8:00pm CST, seven days a week.
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team