Skip to main content

Wisconsin ATV/OHM Laws and Regulations

Passing this ATV/OHM license course will complete your online safety education for Wisconsin.

Do you need Wisconsin ATV/OHM education?

Wisconsin

For ATV riders — You must be at least 12 years old and were born after Dec. 31, 1987.

For OHM riders — You must be at least 12 years old and were born after Dec. 31, 1997.

If you have already completed the ATV safety course but want to ride an Off-Highway Motorcycle on public trails, you must first complete this free OHM Short Course.

You may only take this course if you already have ATV certification. If you are not currently ATV-certified, you will need to take the FULL Wisconsin ATV/OHM Online Course.

Free OHM Short Course

There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course. However, your certificate will not be valid until you turn 12 years old.

You do not have to be a resident of Wisconsin to take this online course.

Elsewhere

ATV/OHM education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.

Is the ATV/OHM Card the same as the ATV/OHM License?

The Offroad Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved ATV/OHM safety course and allows you to go off-roading. Because the ATV/OHM education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Wisconsin ATV/OHM License.

Why ATV/OHM Safety Education Is Important

These vehicles have been increasing in popularity during the past decade. As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.

Reciprocity

Most states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Offroad Safety Certificate. (This is known as “reciprocity.”) If you plan to snowmobile in another state, make sure you check that state’s reciprocity laws before doing so.