Pennsylvania ATV Laws and Regulations
Passing this ATV license course will complete your online safety education for Pennsylvania.
unlimited exam attempts
Do you need Pennsylvania ATV education?
You need education if you are under 16 years old.
You must be at least 16 years old to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Pennsylvania to take this online course.
ATV education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
Is the ATV Card the same as the ATV License?
The ATV Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved ATV safety course and allows you to go off-roading. Because the ATV education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Pennsylvania ATV License.
Why ATV Safety Education Is Important
These vehicles have been increasing in popularity during the past decade. As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.
Most states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the ATV Safety Certificate. (This is known as “reciprocity.”) If you plan to operate in another state or province, make sure you check their reciprocity laws before doing so.
Pennsylvania Department of Conservation & Natural Resources Bureau of Forestry, Recreation Section
Rachel Carson State Office Building, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 8552 Harrisburg, PA 17105-8552
We’re people, not robots.
Your Offroad Ed course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm CST
Sat-Sun 8am to 5pm CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)