Montana OHV/ORV Laws and Regulations
Passing this OHV license course will complete your online safety education for Montana.
unlimited exam attempts
Do you need Montana OHV education?
You need education if you are 12 to 16 years old and will be riding on public roads in Montana.
You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Montana to take this online course.
OHV education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
You must carry proof of successful completion of an approved OHV safety education course to legally operate an OHV if you are 12 to 16 years old.
Is the OHV Card the same as the OHV License?
The OHV Safety Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved OHV safety course and allows you to go off-roading. Because the OHV education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Montana OHV License.
Why OHV Safety Education Is Important
These vehicles have been increasing in popularity during the past decade. As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.
Most states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the OHV Safety Education Certificate. (This is known as “reciprocity.”) If you plan to operate in another state or province, make sure you check their reciprocity laws before doing so.
Montana State Parks
1420 East Sixth Avenue
P.O. Box 200701 Helena, MT 59620-0701
We’re people, not robots.
Your Offroad Ed course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm CST
Sat-Sun 8am to 5pm CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)