Utah ATV Laws and Regulations

Passing this OHV license course will complete your online safety education for Utah.

Do you need Utah OHV education?


You need education if you are under 16 years old and will be riding on public lands in Utah.

You must be at least 8 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Utah to take this online course.


OHV education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.

Is the OHV Card the same as the OHV License?

The Utah OHV Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved OHV safety course and allows you to go off-roading. Because the OHV education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Utah OHV License.

Why OHV Safety Education Is Important

These vehicles have been increasing in popularity during the past decade. As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.


All states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Utah OHV Safety Certificate. Likewise, Utah will accept certifications that are issued by other states and provinces. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Utah OHV students most frequently ask.

Utah Frequently Asked Questions