Pennsylvania ATV Laws and Regulations
Pennsylvania’s ATV education program teaches ATV riders the fundamentals of safe and responsible off-road riding and an appreciation and respect for the environment in which they ride.
By completing and passing this Pennsylvania‐approved online ATV license course, you will have completed your online safety education for Pennsylvania.
Pay Only When You Pass, unlimited exam attemptsSign Up For Free →
Do you need Pennsylvania ATV education?
You need education if you are under 16 years old and will be riding in Pennsylvania.
You must be at least 16 years old to take this online course.
ATV education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
Is the Pennsylvania ATV License the same as the permanent Pennsylvania ATV Safety Certificate?
The permanent Pennsylvania ATV Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved ATV operator safety course. Since the ATV education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Pennsylvania ATV License.
Why ATV Safety Education Is Important
These vehicles have been increasing in popularity during the past decade. As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.
All states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Pennsylvania ATV Safety Certificate. Likewise, Pennsylvania will accept certifications that are issued by other states and provinces. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Department of Conservation & Natural Resources Bureau of Forestry, Recreation Section
Rachel Carson State Office Building, 6th Floor
P.O. Box 8552
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8552
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Pennsylvania ATV students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions