Pennsylvania ATV Laws and Regulations

Passing this ATV license course will complete your online safety education for Pennsylvania.

Do you need Pennsylvania ATV education?


You need education if you are under 16 years old.

You must be at least 16 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Pennsylvania to take this online course.


ATV education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.

Is the ATV Card the same as the ATV License?

The Pennsylvania ATV Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved ATV safety course and allows you to go off-roading. Because the ATV education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Pennsylvania ATV License.

Why ATV Safety Education Is Important

These vehicles have been increasing in popularity during the past decade. As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.


All states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the Pennsylvania ATV Safety Certificate. Likewise, Pennsylvania will accept certifications that are issued by other states and provinces. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Pennsylvania ATV students most frequently ask.

Pennsylvania Frequently Asked Questions