Driving Under the Influence
Oregon law prohibits anyone from operating an ATV, ORM, or side-by-side while under the influence of intoxicants (alcohol or drugs).
Under Oregon law, you are “under the influence” if you are operating on public lands and you have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08%or higher (by weight) as determined by a chemical test or analysis of your breath or blood, or you are impaired.
If convicted of “driving under the influence of intoxicants”:
- A Class A misdemeanor will be recorded on your permanent driving record.
- You may be fined a minimum of $1,000 for a first conviction.
It is a Class A traffic violation for the owner or operator of an ATV, ORM, or side-by-side to allow a person who is under the influence of intoxicants to use the vehicle to cross a highway.