About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed New Hampshire OHRV/Snowmobile Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your New Hampshire OHRV/Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

A person under 12 years of age:

  • Must wear helmet and eye protection and…
  • Must be accompanied by a licensed person over 18 years of age when not operating on the vehicle owner’s private property and…
  • May not operate an OHRV along or across any public road and…
  • May not carry passengers on an ATV and…
  • May take an OHRV safety class but cannot be certified (11-year-olds may take the class and receive the card, but it will not be valid until their 12th birthday). Go to Ride.NH.gov for more information.

A person 12 or 13 years of age:

  • Must wear a helmet and eye protection and…
  • Must have an approved safety education certificate when riding on public property and…
  • Must at all times be accompanied by a person who is 18 years of age or older and has a valid driver’s license and…
  • May cross or operate along approved roads when accompanied and…
  • May not carry passengers on an ATV.

A person 14 or 15 years of age:

  • Must wear a helmet and eye protection and…
  • Must have an approved safety education certificate when riding on public property and…
  • May operate unaccompanied on public property or trails and across roads and…
  • Must be accompanied by a person who is 18 years of age or older and has a valid driver’s license while operating along approved roads and…
  • May not carry passengers on an ATV.

A person 16 or 17 years of age:

  • Must wear a helmet and eye protection and…
  • Must have a valid motor vehicle driver’s license or an approved safety education certificate when riding on public property and…
  • May operate unaccompanied on public property or trails and across roads and…
  • If not licensed to drive a motor vehicle, must be accompanied by a person who is 18 years of age or older and has a valid driver’s license while operating along approved roads and…
  • May not carry passengers on an ATV.

A person 18 years of age or older:

  • Is encouraged, but not required, to wear a helmet and eye protection and…
  • Must have a valid motor vehicle driver’s license or an approved safety education certificate when riding on public property and…
  • May cross roads and…
  • If not licensed to drive a motor vehicle, must be accompanied by a person who is 18 years of age or older and has a valid driver’s license while operating along approved roads and…
  • May carry passengers on an ATV.

All persons who are required to have an approved safety education certificate or a driver’s license must carry the certificate or license on the OHRV and make it available for inspection by a law enforcement officer whenever the OHRV is being operated.

OHRV/Wheeled Vehicle Requirements
Operating on Personally Owned & Public Property Operating on Private and/or Public Property
Age Helmet & Eye Protection Carry Passengers on ATV Accompanied by Licensed Adult Over 18 Driver’s License or Safety Certificate Operate Across Roads Operate Along Designated Roads*
* To operate along approved roads, must possess a valid driver’s license OR must possess valid safety certificate and must be accompanied by an adult at least 18 years of age who possesses a valid driver’s license.
Under 12 Yes No Yes No No No
12 or 13 Yes No Yes Yes Yes Yes*
14 or 15 Yes No No Yes Yes Yes*
16 or 17 Yes No No Yes Yes Yes*
18 and Over No Yes No Yes Yes Yes*