Montana OHV/ORV Laws and Regulations

Passing this OHV license course will complete your online safety education for Montana.

Do you need Montana OHV education?

Montana

You need education if you are 12 to 16 years old and will be riding on public roads in Montana.

You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Montana to take this online course.

Elsewhere

OHV education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.

Operator Restrictions

You must carry proof of successful completion of an approved OHRV or snowmobile safety education course to legally operate an OHRV or snowmobile.

Is the OHV Card the same as the OHV License?

The OHV Safety Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved OHV safety course and allows you to go off-roading. Because the OHV education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Montana OHV License.

Why OHV Safety Education Is Important

These vehicles have been increasing in popularity during the past decade. As trails and recreation areas become more crowded, it’s especially important for people to operate these vehicles safely and responsibly.

Reciprocity

All states and provinces that have mandatory education requirements will accept the OHV Safety Education Certificate. Likewise, Montana will accept certifications that are issued by other states and provinces. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Montana OHV students most frequently ask.

Frequently Asked Questions