The Handbook of Massachusetts Off-Highway Vehicle Laws
The Official Off-roading Handbook of the Massachusetts Environmental Police - Web Version
Table of Contents
Understanding Your Other Responsibilities
Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
Massachusetts law prohibits anyone from operating an OHV while under the influence alcohol or drugs.
Under Massachusetts law, you are "under the influence" if you:
- Are 21 years of age or older and have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher as determined by a chemical test or analysis of your breath.
- Are under 21 years of age and have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02% or higher as determined by a chemical test or analysis of your breath.
Those convicted of operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs will:
- Receive a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 and…
- Have their OHV registration revoked and…
- Have their motor vehicle driver's license suspended.
Always keep your OHV owner information in a safe place, separate from your vehicle.
Report thefts to your local police department. Give law enforcement officers:
- Your registration information
- Your vehicle identification number (VIN), which consists of 17 alpha-numeric characters
- A description of your vehicle
The police will forward your information to the Massachusetts Environmental Police, Theft Division, for follow-up.
Responding After a Crash
If you are involved in a crash, you must:
- Stop immediately and render aid and…
- Give the other party your name, address, and the registration number and owner's name of the OHV you're riding.
The driver of an OHV involved in a crash (or parent if the operator is under the age of 18) must notify a law enforcement officer immediately and file a written report if the crash resulted in:
- Injury or…
- Death or…
- Property damage of $50 or more.
Crash report forms may be obtained from www.mass.gov/ole.
Enforcing Laws and Regulations
All Massachusetts law enforcement officers enforce OHV laws and regulations. In the performance of their duties, enforcement officers may enter upon and pass through or over private lands or property.
An enforcement officer may require an OHV operator to produce:
- The personal identification and address of the operator
- The vehicle registration certificate
- A safety permit proving successful completion of an approved recreation vehicle safety and responsibility course
- Written permission from the landowner or proof of membership of an organization that has written permission from the landowner when operating on another person’s property
An operator who violates OHV laws and regulations may receive fines and/or other penalties for:
- Operating recklessly or negligently
- Leaving the scene of the crash without stopping and giving his or her name, address, and vehicle registration number to others involved in the crash
- Operating in a manner resulting in the serious injury or death of another person
No one 18 years of age or older who has custody or control of an OHV may knowingly permit a person under the age of 18 to operate the recreation vehicle in violation of Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90B. You may not use lack of ownership in the OHV or not knowing the actual age of the operator as a defense to a violation.